Working Committee

The participants of the roundtable established a working committee aimed to summarize the recommendation of the roundtable in a report format and present in the next meetings for further discussion. The committee comprised Justice Basharat Ahmad Shaikh, a former Judge of the AJK Supreme Court; Chaudhary Latif Akbar, Secretary General of the Pakistan Peoples Party AJK; Abdur Rashid Abbasi, a Minster in the AJK Government; Ambassador Arif Kamal; and Muhammad Saleem Bismil, Secretary to the AJK Government, Tariq Masud, Zulfiqar Abbasi and Ershad Mahmud were ex-officio members.    

Based on the roundtable discussion and consultation with the representatives of the political parties and civil society committee presented a report entitled:

An Appraisal of Constitutional, Financial and Administrative Arrangements between the Governments of Pakistan and Azad Jammu and Kashmir

The report recommended number of constitutional amendments in the Constitution of Azad Jammu and Kashmir commonly known as Act 1974. CPDR held a series of dialogues with the legislatures, politicians, representatives of civil society on the report to sensitize grass root community leaders, intellectuals and media to finally generate support in the policy-making circles such as political leadership of Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) and Pakistan to amend Constitution.

Share this on: